Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for Developing Countries

The commonwealth shared scholarships for developing countries for students who are aspiring to study in UK Universities from selected developing countries.

The scholarship is for master’s students from commonwealth countries for the 2023/2024 academic session.

About Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for Developing Countries

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarships was set up in 1986 by the Department for International Development (DFID). It represents a unique partnership between the United Kingdom government and UK universities. Over 3,500 students from developing Commonwealth countries have been awarded the Shared Scholarships.

UK universities have offered to support the scholarships by contributing to the stipend for the students from their own resources, or from resources that the university is able to generate from elsewhere.

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarships scheme is for Master’s courses only. All courses undertaken must be demonstrably relevant to the economic, social, or technological development of the candidate’s home country.

Research Summary

Duration 1 year
Study Level: Postgraduate
Organization Commonwealth
 Country United Kingdom
Application Deadline  December 13, 2022


Aim and Benefits of Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

Below are the aims and benefits of the program:

  • Approved airfare from your home country to the UK and return at the end of your award (the CSC will not reimburse the cost of fares for dependants, nor the cost of journeys made before your award is confirmed) – arranged by the university; funded by the CSC
  • Approved tuition fees – funded by the CSC
  • Stipend (living allowance) at the rate of £1,236 per month, or £1,516 per month for those at universities in the London metropolitan area (rates quoted at 2022-2023 levels) – paid and funded by the university
  • Warm clothing allowance, where applicable – paid and funded by the university
  • Thesis grant towards the cost of preparing a thesis or dissertation, where applicable – claimed from and paid by the university; funded by the CSC
  • Study travel grant towards the cost of study-related travel within the UK or overseas – claimed from and paid by the university; funded by the CSC
  • Reimbursement of the cost of mandatory tuberculosis (TB) test, where required for a visa application (receipts must be supplied) – claimed from and paid by the university; funded by the CSC
  • If you are widowed, divorced, or a single parent, a child allowance of £529 per month for the first child, and £131 per month for the second and third child under the age of 16, if you are accompanied by your children and they are living with you at the same address in the UK (rates quoted at 2022-2023 levels)
  • If you declare a disability, a full assessment of your needs and eligibility for additional financial support will be offered by the CSC.

Requirements for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

To qualify for the award, the candidate must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2023
  • By September 2023, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree). The CSC typically does not fund a second UK Master’s degree. If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you will need to provide justification as to why you wish to undertake this study.
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high-income country
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

The selection criteria for the award include:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • The potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country.

Application Deadline

The deadline for the application is December 13, 2022.

How to Apply for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

Follow the process below to apply for the award:

  • Applications for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships must be made using the CSC’s online application system.
  • You can apply to study one of the taught Master’s courses offered in the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship scheme. These scholarships do not cover undergraduate courses, Ph.D. study, or any pre-sessional English language teaching, and are usually tenable for one year only.
  • You must also secure admission to your course in addition to applying for a Shared Scholarship. You must check with your chosen university for their specific advice on when to apply, admission requirements, and rules for applying. 
  • You must make your application using the CSC’s online application system, in addition to any other application that you are required to complete by your chosen university. The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the online application system.
  • You can apply for more than one course and/or to more than one university, but you may only accept one offer of a Shared Scholarship.

For more information, visit the official website.





Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *